QUEBEC ACT of 1774

By Gay A. Christensen-Dean

The Quebec Act was passed by the Parliament of Great Britain on June 22, 1774. It was composed of three main ideas.

1. It was designed to extend the boundaries of Quebec to include the land west to the Mississippi and Ohio rivers and south of the Great Lakes, north to the Hudson's Bay Company territory, and to include the islands Ile d'Anticosti and Iles de la Madeleine in the mouth of the St. Lawrence River, and Labrador. This encompassed Indian Territory; Ontario; and what is today Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin and parts of Minnesota, infuriating the eastern colonies of Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia, who claimed their land extended to the west.

2. The Quebec Act also guaranteed religious freedom to Catholic French Canadians, who were in the majority in Quebec, to promote their loyalty to the English king, thus denying the American Revolution fighters who were predominately Protestant, their support. This heightened the tensions between the American colonies and Great Britain; the Americans thinking that they could also be so controlled. To gain the Catholic Canadians trust, any reference to Protestantism in oaths of allegiance was removed.

3. The Quebec Act defined the structure of the Canadian government - to be controlled by the Crown and not by the Canadian people, further terrifying the American colonists into thinking they might be treated the same way.

The American Revolution happened. And, in 1791 the Quebec Act was repealed.

Sources: www.landofthebrave.info; worldhistoryproject.org; ushistoryscene.com www.britannica.com; mrwouda.weebly.com

North America after the Quebec Act, 1774

